Dr. Jeffrey E. Temple, assistant professor, UTMB Obstetrics & Gynecology has been awarded the 2013 ECPN John B. Reid Early Career Award by the Society for Prevention Research Early Career Preventionist Network (ECPN) in recognition of his contributions to advancing the field of prevention science.

Dr. Tasnee Chonmaitree, UTMB professor of pediatrics, director of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program and associate director of Research Education for the UTMB Institute of Translational Sciences was an invited speaker at the Frontiers of Science seminar series in Turku, Finland in April. The seminar series was supported by BioCity Turku, an umbrella organization supporting and coordinating life science and molecular medicine related research in the University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University. The aim of the seminar was to bring top scientists to present their recent achievements on various fields of biology, cell and molecular biology and biotechnology. Dr. Chonmaitree’s research talk was entitled “Pathogenesis of virus-induced acute otitis media: role of genetic polymorphisms”. Dr. Chonmaitree also visited Turku University Hospital and gave pediatric grand rounds entitled “What’s new on the Diagnosis and Management of Acute Otitis Media”; she addressed the new American Academy of Pediatrics Clinical Practice Guideline on acute otitis media, for which she co-authored. 

Officer Gerardo Gonzales, a 13 year veteran of the UTMB Police Department, was recently honored by The Fifty Club of Galveston County for his outstanding law enforcement efforts and for demonstrating excellent police patrol intuition and superior life saving aptitude. 

On July 14 Officer Gonzales was traveling on the 3700 block of Broadway and heard a loud crashing sound and saw two cars on the roadway that had been involved in a major accident. Officer Gonzales stopped and immediately checked on the physical well being of the persons involved in the accident. He discovered that the driver of one of the cars, Lauren Crater, was injured, was unable to exit her vehicle on her own, and that her vehicle had caught on fire as a result of the accident. Gonzales removed Crater from her vehicle and placed her a safe distance away from the fire that engulfed the damaged engine compartment of her car.

Dr. Karen Szauter recently was honored by the American Association of Medical Colleges with the Career Educator Award. The Career Educator Award, presented by AAMC’s Southern Group on Education Affairs, recognizes her lifetime achievement in medical education, including a record of scholarship, leadership, collaboration and professionalism. She is a professor in the department of internal medicine and is an inaugural member of UTMB’s Academy of Master Teachers and was inducted in 2008 into the University of Texas Academy of Health Science Educators. In addition, she received the UT System Board of Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award in 2012.

UTMB recently awarded the Robert L. Moody Prize for Brain Injury Research to Dr. Jennie Ponsford, professor of neuropsychology at Monash University and director of the Monash-Epworth Rehabilitation Research Centre at Epworth Hospital in Melbourne, Australia. Ponsford is a prolific author, teacher, researcher and activist in the field of traumatic brain injury. The award was presented at the 13th annual Galveston International Brain Injury Conference at Moody Gardens hosted by UTMB’s School of Health Professions and the Transitional Learning Center. 


Jeanne KeyStephanie DeJonghCongratulations go out to UTMB's nurses Stephanie DeJongh and Jeanne Key for being recognized as two of the Top 100 Nurses by the Houston Chronicle and other organizations around the country at this year’s Salute to Nurses Luncheon.




The UTMB Ambulatory Team hosted a Community Health Fair followed by an afternoon of fun at their Annual Ambulatory Employee Picnic.  It was a beautiful day! Thank you to all those who participated and helped.

See pictures of the events here.