This year’s UTMB Hospital and Nurses Week, “Sparking Excellence,” was a huge hit!  Numerous events showcased the excellence at UTMB Health, including presentations, Health System Leadership visits to various units, vendor fairs and more. The Nurses Week Task Force also sponsored the Nursing Awards Ceremony which included the Anna Pearl Raines Award, Silent Angel Awards and the Daisy Awards.

The Anna Pearl Raines Award is given in memory of Anna Pearl, who served the UTMB community for 49 years as a nurse, administrator, teacher to students, mentor and friend to practicing nurse faculty and trailblazing leader of brilliant intellect. Throughout her life, she remained dedicated to the notion of nursing as a commitment to lifelong learning and demonstrated it throughout her career. Meredith Herzog was recognized as this year’s Anna Pearl Raines Award Recipient.

The Silent Angel Award honors a licensed nurse, non-nurse and unit/group whose compassion, caring and advocacy made a difference in the life of a patient, family or friend. The award recipients are RN 1st - Malou Catacutan (PICU) 2nd - Heather Schumaker (L & D) 3rd - Linda Venzke (Patient Financial Services); Non-RN - Dr. Mary Clair Haver (OB/GYN); and Group - David McDaniel, Marion Davenport and Joan Murrah-Johnson (PACU).
Daisy Awards are given to deserving UTMB nurses based on teamwork, compassion, advocacy, critical thinking and patient/family focus. The past year’s winners are: Tammy McCrumb (PACU), Gopakumar Manikandaseril (SICU), Jessica Haven (PPU), Lori Dix (MICU), Robert Hastedt (MICU), Janet David (TDCJ), Tony Eappen (Medicine), Dana Robertson (PPU), Kitty Bosch (APU), Mary Douglas (L&D), Janie Diaz (OR), Christine O’Donohoe (Nursery), Lana Knorr (PACU), Adrienne White (UHC 5th Floor Surgical Specialties), James Wilson (UHC 5th Floor Dermatology), Debra Beland (UHC 5th Floor Rheumatology), Melissa Trevino (7th Floor Pedi Specialty) and Jennifer Daly (Victory Lakes Breast Health Clinic).

Photos by John Carstens