Excellence in Professionalism

Shama Shaukatali, a pre-med student in the Clinical Laboratory Sciences program, is the May-June recipient of the Excellence in Professionalism award for her "continual demonstration of professionalism throughout her studies at UTMB. She has shown professionalism in leadership through holding several officer positions in various organizations including: President of Red Cross, Student Government Association SHP Senator, Parliamentarian of the Student Organization of Clinical Laboratory Sciences, and Secretary of Lambda Tau National Honor Society."


Raimer wins public health award

The Texas Public Health Association bestowed their highest award for outstanding health professionals, The James E. Peavy Memorial Award, to Dr. Ben Raimer, senior vice president of health policy and legislative affairs. The award is presented annually to the public health worker in Texas who has made significant contributions to the advancement of public health knowledge or practice or who has demonstrated a genuine concern for the health needs of society.

The award serves as a living memorial to Dr. James E. Peavy, who served as state commissioner of health from 1959 until his retirement in 1975.


Distinguished service award

Dr. Leonard Swischuk, professor of radiology, has received the 2012 Texas Pediatric Society Distinguished Service Award that recognizes a nonmember pediatrician, nonpediatric physician, allied health care provider or a layperson who has gone beyond the norm in expressing their dedication and love of children.



Outstanding program

The Association for Prevention Teaching and Research recognized UTMB’s department of preventive medicine and community health with its Outstanding Educational Program Award for 2012. Four graduate programs — public health, clinical science, population health sciences and rehabilitation sciences — reside in the department.

Carlson elected president of AAA

Deborah Carlson, associate professor of otolaryngology and director of the Center for Audiology and Speech Pathology at the medical branch, has been elected as president of the American Academy of Audiology.

Carlson’s work has focused on central auditory processing, acoustic amplification, electrophysiology, newborn hearing screening, optoacoustic emissions, and diagnostic audiology.

She is known nationally for her expertise in the field and is a past president and founding member of the Texas Academy of Audiology.

The academy promotes quality hearing and balance care by advancing the profession of audiology through leadership, advocacy, education, public awareness and support of research.

The academy is the world’s largest organization for professional audiologists, with more than 11,700 active members. As president, Carlson will lead a 12-member board to continue the advancement of the audiology profession.

National Award

Kathryn A. Cunningham, professor and vice chairman of the department of pharmacology and toxicology, is the recipient of the 2012 Mentorship Award from the College on Problems of Drug Dependence.

The group, founded in 1929, is the largest and oldest international organization supporting drug abuse and addiction sciences. The group’s mentorship award is a prestigious award of excellence presented annually by the college.

The award, established in 2000, is given to a member who has been an exemplary mentor to developing scientists in drug abuse and addiction sciences.

Cunningham’s highly-successful research program has focused on the translational neurobiology of addiction in a program that has been continuously funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse for more than 20 years.