Click play to view the slideshow photos


In the wake of Hurricane Isaac the Louisiana Environmental Action Network, in collaboration with UTMB, purchased and distributed food, water, personal hygiene products, cleaning supplies and other items to those who were impacted by the storm.

Hello from the UTMB Health Ear, Nose & Throat Consultants, and the Center for Audiology & Speech Pathology in League City.

Left to right: Travis Demarest, Cheryl Bond, Elsie Coker, Annette Collins and Sal Troncozo.

The Texas Pediatric Society Annual Meeting was held recently and two UTMB Pediatric faculty were recognized in the 2012 TPS Fellow and Resident Poster Contest:

Dr. Erika Espino-Torres, UTMB Neonatology fellow received an honorable mention in the Evidence-Based Medicine/Quality of Improvement category for eye patches that reduce the pain and distress in infants undergoing pupillary dilation for the screening of retinopathy of prematurity.

Dr. Leonard Swischuk was the recipient of the TPS Distinguished Service Award for his dedication to excellence in imaging of children as well as educating both radiology and pediatric medical students, residents and faculty in the field of pediatric radiology. His publications include textbooks on pediatric radiology of neonates and acutely ill or injured children.

Bill T. Ameredes, PhD, associate professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, has successfully renewed the Environmental Toxicology (ETox) T32 Training Grant with the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health, beginning July of 2012.  The Training Grant entitled, “Molecular Mechanisms of Environmental Injury” has been consistently funded at UTMB for over 20 years.  We are delighted that Dr. Ameredes, Director of the UTMB ETox Training Program, has obtained this grant renewal, which enables us to continue our outstanding tradition of NIH support for our pre-doctoral and post-doctoral trainees, as well as the training faculty within the program.

Two UTMB leaders were recognized at an awards dinner held during the fourth University of Texas System Clinical Safety and Effectiveness Conference and Recognition Event. The conference took place September 20 - 21 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. 

Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs of the University of Texas System, Dr. Ken Shine, conferred the awards to selected graduates of the University of Texas Clinical Safety and Effectiveness course that demonstrated extraordinary results and authored the most outstanding patient safety and quality improvement project abstracts.
Lindsay K. Sonstein, MD, assistant professor, Division of General Internal Medicine, was awarded third prize from among over 90 abstracts in a competitive submission for the 2012 conference. Dr. Sonstein presented her summary Improving Core Measures in an Academic Institution at the conference. 
Gulshan Sharma, MD, director, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, was inducted as a Clinical Safety and Effectiveness Fellow along with two others to join the ranks of 18 Fellows who exemplify discipline, talent and commitment and extend the impact of their efforts by helping advance and extend capability-building across the UT System.