Thanks to all UTMB medical and nursing students, adjunct faculty, nurses and others for providing support during the recent Wings Over Houston air show.  The event was a big success, attracting an estimated 125,000 people. 

Richard T. Jennings, professor and residency program director of Aerospace Medicine in the Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health, has been selected as one of ten outstanding program directors in the nation to receive the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Parker J. Palmer “Courage to Teach” Award for Program Director Excellence.

The award honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and to provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others in the environment. The award will be presented to Dr. Jennings in March 2013 at a special awards luncheon and ceremony hosted by the ACGME in Orlando, Florida. “My educational philosophy is to provide residents with unique opportunities to learn, train and conduct focused research in operationally challenging aerospace environments with guidance from the best teachers and mentors in the field,” said Dr. Jennings. “While the residents become excellent specialists, I constantly remind them the most important part of their journey is to be a knowledgeable, compassionate and caring physician.”

Deborah A. McGrew was named Chief Operating Officer for UTMB, effective Jan. 17, 2013. 

In this role, McGrew will be responsible for leading, planning and integrating all aspects of the UTMB Health System to include the hospitals, clinics, ancillary services and Correctional Managed Care. She will also work to integrate all health-care services and activities for the Health System to ensure the delivery of safe, timely, efficient, effective, equitable and patient-centered care for UTMB’s patient population and the community as a whole.

“We’re so pleased to have Deborah joining the UTMB Health System,” said Donna K. Sollenberger, executive vice president and CEO of the UTMB Health System. “She’ll be working closely with me, as well as with the executive vice president, provost and dean of the School of Medicine, Dr. Danny Jacobs. Deborah’s extensive experience will help to provide innovative health-care delivery systems and educational solutions to pressing societal needs for access to and quality of care.”

Sue Rowley is UTMB's November DAISY award winner. 

She was nominated by Kimber Garcia, Lesa Parker, Jocelyn Piangenti and Erika Zamora for her "dedication to excellence with every patient and family. As a mentor, she is always ready to give advice and assistance. Sue recently helped a co-worker anticipate and plan for complications related to a patient with a 2nd degree, Type II AVB. The patient felt safe in her care. Sue is a compassionate nurse who is very sensitive to her patient's needs as well as her co-workers. Sue is a teamplayer, role model and an inspiration to all on Unit 9B."

Congratulations to UTMB’s Security Department and Chief Engells for receiving a $2,000 grant from the Rotary Club of Galveston. The grant is dedicated to the Child Safety Seat Program and will provide 51 child safety seats to indigent parents. The program also utilizes trained Safety Seat Technicians who teach parents how to properly install child safety seats into their own vehicles. This is the second grant the Rotary Club has dedicated to the Child Safety Seat Program.

Special thanks to Dr. Sonia Bhatt, Patti Forey-Carver, Dr. Jose Rodriguez, Dr. Charanjeez Mann, Joan Poffenbarger and many others for their time and contributions at the Seniors Health Fair in Friendswood.

Dr. David Walker, professor and chairman of the UTMB department of pathology and director of the UTMB Center for Biodefense and Emerging Infectious Diseases, has been honored by Vanderbilt University School of Medicine with its Distinguished Alumnus Award, which recognizes a medical alumnus whose distinguished career achievement in the medical profession reflects honor on Vanderbilt. Recipients are selected based on contributions to the field of medicine. Walker is a 1969 graduate of Vanderbilt University.


Steve LeBlanc, Kim McKay, Marcel Blanchard, Jim Victor, Mike Shriner, Patrick Michaelski and Carlos EscobarFolks from Business Operations and Facilities celebrated Thanksgiving with food and fun.