Dr. Raimer reappointed to State Health Quality Board, remains chair

Gov. Rick Perry has reappointed Dr. Ben Raimer to the Texas Institute of Health Care Quality and Efficiency Board of Directors for a term to expire Jan. 31, 2017. Raimer is UTMB’s senior vice president for Health Policy and Legislative Affairs.
Raimer of Galveston, a board certified pediatrician, is a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Texas Medical Association, Texas Pediatric Society and Texas Rural Health Association. He is also a member and past president of the Galveston County Medical Society, a public representative for the Texas Health and Human Services Commission Task Force on Local Health Care Initiatives, and past chairman of the Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council and Health Disparities Task Force. Raimer received a bachelor's degree from East Texas Baptist University, a master's degree in genetics from the University of Texas, and a medical degree from the UTMB. He will continue to serve as chair of the board for a term to expire at the pleasure of the governor.
The Texas Institute of Health Care Quality and Efficiency improves health care quality, accountability, education and cost to the state by encouraging health care provider collaboration, effective health care delivery models and
coordination of health care services. 

Educator of the Month Awards
The Academy of Master Teachers (AMT) has announced the recipients of the Educator of the Month Award for October 2012-January 2013. These four faculty members were singled out by students and colleagues for exemplifying educational excellence in UTMB’s academic programs. The AMT launched the Educator of the Month program in October 2012 to acknowledge, thank, and reward outstanding teachers at UTMB. Nominations are accepted throughout the year and may be submitted by students or faculty. To nominate the next Educator of the Month, visit http://www.utmb.edu/amt.
October 2012: Alice Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dr. Alice Hill serves as Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in the School of Nursing.  She is also the School’s Doctoral Program Director and holds the John P. McGovern Professorship in the Healing Practices of Nursing. The nomination recognized Hill’s dedication to students: “You see, Dr. Hill is able to find the good in everyone in every situation. In my opinion, after being a nurse for 33 years, that is what it takes to be healthy, whole, and happy: Someone to believe in you even when you can't. The legacy of Dr. Hill will go on forever.”
November 2012: Victor Reyes, PhD
Dr. Reyes serves as Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology.  Three nominations were submitted, each recognizing a different facet of his teaching. A second year medical student lauded Reyes for his role as a problem- based learning (PBL) facilitator: “Dr. Reyes has many qualities that make an excellent educator, but the most important quality is his ability to make students want to learn more about the topics we are studying.  Dr. Reyes is certainly the best PBL facilitator I have had the pleasure of having because of his excellent questioning style that guides students to understand a topic.”  Reyes was also nominated by a graduate student who commented that he “contributed significantly to both my teaching in graduate school and mentoring during my research….he presented lectures in such a way that made complex issues easily understandable.” A fellow faculty member said that she has “benefited immensely from his mentorship” and also noted his ability to present, “clear, well prepared, and highly informative lectures.”
December 2012: Mark Clark, PhD
Dr.Clark, Assistant Professor in the Institute for the Medical Humanities (IMH), was selected for this award based on a nomination from an IMH doctoral student. The student remarked that Clark is, “undoubtedly the best teacher that I’ve ever encountered in my educational career. I am consistently struck by Dr. Clark’s ability to create an encouraging and supportive space where students feel safe to freely share their thoughts and insights.”
January 2013: Bonnie Webster, MS, RN, BC
Bonnie Webster, Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing, received11 nominations for this award (one student and ten faculty members)!  The student said Webster is, “a phenomenal professor! ... Every class is fun, entertaining, and most importantly, provides a creative atmosphere conducive to learning!” Faculty comments include, “remarkable ability to challenge her students to excel; to hold them to high standards of practice while also gaining their trust and affection….She models the behavior she expects of her students.”

Nursing professor selected for national program
Jessica Peck, assistant professor in the School of Nursing, has been selected for the third cohort of 20 select nurse educators around the United States to participate in the LEAD program, a leadership development initiative of the National League for Nursing with support from the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future.

Ophthalmology residents represent UTMB at state, national events
Dr. Misha Syed, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences glaucoma doctor and residency program director, recently announced that four residents have been chosen to represent the department and institution at state and national events.
Drs. Diana Chao and James Kim have been chosen to attend the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Advocacy Mid-Year Forum on April 10 as advocacy ambassadors, sponsored by the Texas Ophthalmological Association (TOA).  They will travel to Washington, D.C., to represent ophthalmology’s interests at a congressional level and will learn how the political process affects the field.
Drs. James Kim and Brian Tieu have had their research abstracts accepted for presentation at the 2013 Resident Competition: The Barry Uhr Memorial Prize in Comprehensive Ophthalmology.  The competition will be held during the TOA Annual Program, May 17-18 in conjunction with Texas Medical Association’s TexMed meeting in San Antonio.
Syed said, "These residents have taken the initiative to participate in very important and valuable experiences, which will serve them well as they start their careers.  We are proud to have them represent the department and UTMB."
Click here to read more about the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.