For immediate release: May 3, 2007

GALVESTON, Texas - The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston will hold its 39th commencement ceremony at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 5, in Levin Hall, 11th and Market streets. With a total of 76 graduates, this is the largest graduating class in the history of the GSBS.

During the commencement, 45 graduates will be awarded doctoral degrees, 25 will be awarded master's degrees, and six will receive combined M.D./Ph.D. degrees.

John D. Stobo, UTMB president, and Cary W. Cooper, GSBS dean, will preside over the ceremony. Daniel Freeman, Ph.D., director of the UTMB Office of Biostatistics, will be recognized with the Graduate Student Organization's Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. David Walker, chairman of the UTMB Department of Pathology, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Research Award and James Jorgenson, Ph.D., will receive the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award. Jorgensen graduated from UTMB in 1973 and is professor of pathology at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and director of Clinical Microbiology Laboratories.

A reception will be held in the Levin Hall dining room following the ceremony.
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Public Affairs Office
301 University Boulevard, Suite 3.102
Galveston, Texas 77555-0144