For immediate release: April 13, 2006

GALVESTON, Texas — Deven S. Cockerell and Judy Norris are the 2006 recipients of the Betty Lee Evans Nursing Excellence Award to be presented Thursday, April 20, during the annual Donor Recognition Luncheon sponsored by the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Cockerell is an assistant nurse manager in UTMB’s Geriatric Services and Norris is director of utilization review for UTMB’s Correctional Managed Care.

The Betty Lee Evans award, established in 2001, recognizes UTMB School of Nursing graduates who have made exemplary contributions to the university’s health care system.

During the luncheon, Dean Pamela G. Watson will recognize donors and friends of the School of Nursing. “This is a unique opportunity for our donors who fund the awards to actually meet the students who receive the awards,” Watson said.

The luncheon is from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at Moody Gardens in Galveston.

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
UTMB Media Hotline (409) 772-NEWS
John Koloen: (409) 772-8790