Deborah A. McGrew has been named Chief Operating Officer for the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, effective Jan. 17, 2013. 

In this role, McGrew will be responsible for leading, planning and integrating all aspects of the UTMB Health System to include the hospitals, clinics, ancillary services and Correctional Managed Care. She will also work to integrate all health-care services and activities for the Health System to ensure the delivery of safe, timely, efficient, effective, equitable and patient-centered care for UTMB’s patient population and the community as a whole.

“We’re so pleased to have Deborah joining the UTMB Health System,” said Donna K. Sollenberger, executive vice president and CEO of the UTMB Health System. “She’ll be working closely with me, as well as with the executive vice president, provost and dean of the School of Medicine, Dr. Danny Jacobs. Deborah’s extensive experience will help to provide innovative health-care delivery systems and educational solutions to pressing societal needs for access to and quality of care.”

McGrew is currently the associate vice president at the University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital. Prior to her work at UAB, McGrew was administrative director of transplant services at the University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics. She completed her bachelor’s degree in biology at Drury College in Springfield, Mo. She received her Master of Health Administration from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. She completed her administrative fellowship at the City of Hope National Medicine Center, a comprehensive cancer center and research institute located in the greater Los Angeles area.

She is a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives and Momentum, a Women’s Leadership Development Program in Alabama. She is on the Board of Trustees of the Alabama Department of Mental Health, appointed by the Governor in 2012; a Board Member of One Roof, an organization that serves the homeless; the Birmingham Literacy Council; and served as Board Member and Chair of the Program Committee for the Alabama Kidney Foundation from 2006-2010.