The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences will award 30 degrees during its 45th commencement ceremony Friday, May 3, in Levin Hall. Vice president and GSBS dean Cary Cooper will preside over the 4 p.m. convocation, and UTMB School of Medicine dean Dr. Danny O. Jacobs will confer the degrees.

During the ceremony, the Graduate Student Organization will present its Distinguished Teaching Award to Professor Giulio Taglialatela, associate director of the neuroscience graduate program and director of UTMB’s summer undergraduate research program. Taglialatela will also receive the GSBS Distinguished Faculty Service Award.

Professor Ashok Chopra of the microbiology and immunology department will be honored with the Distinguished Faculty Research Award.

The commencement speaker is Professor Anthony Martin Gerdes, chairman of the department of biomedical sciences at New York Institute of Technology. Gerdes will also receive the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2013.

Including students not attending the commencement, in the 2013 academic year the graduate school is awarding 34 doctoral degrees, 15 master’s degrees and five M.D./Ph.D. degrees.