Galveston County Daily News, Sept. 17, 2013

The 8th annual Cruisin‘ 2 Recovery: Celebrate Prevention and Respect Recovery Festival will take place Sept. 21; Dr. Danny O. Jacobs has received a presidential award from the National Medical Association; Debra Cooper has been selected for the 2014 Washington Fellows Program of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics; the School of Nursing welcomes new faculty members Laura King, Jacquelyn Svoboda, Sandi McCarthy and Kaci Woods-Chinn; the School of Health Professions welcomes new faculty Adrianna Laprea, Laurie Farroni, Claudia Hilton, Barbara Slusher and Bruce Adcock; the Salute to Nursing golf tournament is taking registrations for the annual tourney, set for Oct. 5.